My Teaching Goals

  1. My first goal is to always conduct myself as a professional.  This is very important to me as a future teacher because of my height, being five feet nothing I know that it is more difficult for me to command the respect needed by a teacher.  With my past experience as an assistant teacher at Globe Theatre it was much more relaxed, the kids calling us by first names and being more like a friend to them, but I know that this will lead to problems when I am in charge of my own classroom.

Steps

– Incorporate the method of getting their attention that their teacher uses.

– Communicate with students in a way that shoes them that I am their teacher and    not their friend.

– Dress professionally every class.

 

Data collection

-Discuss with Co-op how she feels I have done with these steps during our post conference as well as taking note of how the students act when they are talking with me.

 

 

  1. My second goal is to encourage a love of learning in my classroom.  This love of learning will in turn spark student interest and engagement.  A classroom of students who enjoy learning is important because it will increase the classroom atmosphere.  From my own experience as a student I know how important a love of learning is, and how important it is to instill this love at a young age as it leads to less drop out rates where the students then become a community of adults who are happy critical thinkers.

Steps

-Make sure to keep my own dislike of math out of student’s knowledge, but rather show them where subjects like math and English can collide, such as books that incorporate math in a fun way.

-Show my own love of learning by being passionate about what I teach.

 

Data collection

-Ask field partner to reflect on if I am upholding these steps as I teach.

 

 

  1. My third goal is to become more confident in the classroom.  I am an introvert, which in an extravert-oriented society is difficult and often is seen us un-confidence. Being confident is important in the classroom because it shows the students that you know what you are teaching and that they can trust that you are teaching them something that is correct and important.  I feel that this is where my training in theatre has been especially useful, as it has given me the confidence in myself that I now must work to show in the classroom.

Steps

-Being prepared for my lessons and having backup lessons in case the first does not pan out.

-Have my lesson plans filled out with detail so that I am never left not knowing what to say.

 

Data collection

-Looking back at my lesson plans and see if they were detailed enough.

-Reflecting on the lesson and writing how I felt the lesson went.

-Ask Co-op or Field partner to write a reflection on if I portrayed confidence.

 

One thought on “My Teaching Goals

  1. Lexi – these are all admirable goals for your field experience. I wonder about the second one, however – it’s a little hard to measure. Could you change it to be a bit more specific? For instance, you might change it to – I will bring cross-disciplinary connections by tying into at least one other subject each day. It’s just helpful to have it be a bit more measurable so that you are able to really focus on these goals and know if you are achieving them.

Leave a Reply

