Week Four

       My lesson this week was for St. Patrick’s Day, we learnt about Limerick, the style of Irish poetry.  I began with a slideshow explaining what a Limerick is and how to write one with a focus on explaining the rhyme scheme and the beat.  Then we wrote one on the board together.  As a class we brainstormed St. Patrick’s Day words to give them ideas for writing their own limericks.  I then handed out worksheets with a shamrock and they wrote their own.  The brainstorming went really well, as I didn’t have any students that seemed stuck on what to write.  The only problem I found was that I wish I could have explained rhythm a bit better, as I felt some of the students were confused.  I learnt that I love seeing students creativity, and that I want to encourage this in my future lessons as a teacher.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

