Week Seven

       This week was my second last week of teaching in my field placement. I began teaching the first part of another two-week arts ed. lesson. I began by explaining to the students that we were going to be watching a video and that we needed to look at the perspective of the story. I then played them a video of The True Story of The Three Little Pigs, a story told from the wolf’s perspective about how he was framed by the media. I then led a class discussion about fractured fairy tales and explained that they were going to be put into groups and make their own fractured fairy tale. This part went well as many of the students participated in the discussion and they really seemed to understand the concept. Once they were in groups with their fairy tale I walked around the class giving listening to their ideas and giving suggestions. My co-op had mentioned how important it is to be an “active participant” so I really focused on that. Each group had been given a story sheet to fill out that would help guide their group work which really helped keep them on task, which is something I want to use again in the future. One thing I would change is having a set way of grouping students because as of yet I have not found a way I particularly like.

Leave a Reply

