My knitting project: Overcoming my perfectionist side (Part 2)

You’ll see some knitting videos really soon; my perfectionist side kicked in and made me feel like I had to be an expert before I shared anything, but that’s silly. I will push that aside and post a video of me knitting whether I’m perfect or not when I have a moment to record it. For now I thought it would be useful post a collection of sources I have been using to learn about knitting.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 10.25.05 PM

Cast on – A podcast all about knitting

This video – A great demonstration on how to knit an infinity scarf

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 10.29.06 PM

And the @Vogueknitting twitter – I feel like they could be a useful resource for me

6 thoughts on “My knitting project: Overcoming my perfectionist side (Part 2)

  1. I have not posted any videos of myself crocheting yet either! You are not alone on being a perfectionist. Sometimes it is hard to move past that and show our mistakes. As soon to be teachers however, i think it is important to show students that we to make mistakes. 🙂

    • Thanks Roxie. Yes; it’s funny that we don’t expect our students to be perfect in their learning, but have different expectations for our own learning. Can’t wait to see your crocheting project 🙂

  2. I totally feel the perfectionist thing! I’ve tried my last learning project post several times before I take pictures of it. It’s funny how we think we need to be perfect at something even though we are just learning do it, do you think University trains us to be this way? Can’t wait to see the product!

    • Great question Ashley. I actually think that our whole school system trains us to be this way with an emphasis​ on the final draft of everything. My own schooling was very much final draft focused with little emphasis on the process of learning which was particularly prominent in my English classes; which I then chose as my major. I have been happy to see that this focus is being shifted through my experience in my Ed classes here though.

  3. Pingback: My knitting project: Cast on (Part 3) | Lexi_Milligan

  4. Pingback: My knitting project: Final reflection | Lexi_Milligan

Leave a Reply

