My knitting project: Final reflection

If you’ve read some of my other posts surrounding ECMP 355 you may have noticed that for my learning project I’ve chosen to learn how to knit; preferably a scarf. Although I did not quite get the scarf I was hoping for; as it was more difficult and time-consuming that I’d expected; I’ve adapted my goals to learning the stitches needed to complete a scarf. These stitches include the cast on, knit, and purl stitches.

Here are the posts surrounding the beginning of my project

1

2

and here are my original posts surrounding these stitches

Cast on

Knit stitch

Purl stitch

To summarise what I’ve learned and to give back to the online community I decided to go back and create how-to videos similar to the ones that I learnt from

Cast on

Knit stitch

Purl Stitch

such a complex task online was difficult and making these videos has shown me how much effort people put into making videos that teach others a skill, as I didn’t have the best lighting or camera’s available and I could not get a camera angle that could show me completing the stitch properly. This online forum was also beneficial as it allowed me access to help when I ran into a problem with the knit stitch and there were numerous tutorial videos to choose from. Overall through completing my own and viewing the results of classmates learning projects I have learnt that there are both benefits and challenges to online learning and that my students will have the opportunity to explore whatever skill they would like online, so I must never assume their knowledge, as with the internet it is neverending.

Leave a Reply

